The Labor Dave Weekend has passed.

Ahhh… yes. Labor Dave Weekend went mostly well. We got to the concert Friday afternoon around noon and went into the venue around 3pm to check out the merchandise and see what else was going on. A few bands played on a side stage, which we didn’t really stay and watch for too long. We had pre-gamed with our own food and bev during the tailgating fun before going in.

Brandi came on around 6 and was amazing. We held up our “Raise Hell Brandi” song, and they played it right then. They played some covers and a few chill songs but mostly they rocked it and I think non-Brandi fans were impressed. During the Dave Matthews Band concert (actually right at the beginning) the seats had filled in more, and there were some real douche bags all around us. Blowing smoke in our faces, pushing us (so that we were no longer in front of our own seats) etc. So when it came time for the guys to get on stage I flaked out on holding the sign for Dave Matthews Band because the jerks behind us were bitching. And I got anxious and pulled it down, and the rest of the night kind of sucked because my mate was mad at me for that.The concert was pretty good though, although I wish they’d have played Crush (our song) while we were not having an issue.

We drove to our secret spot and slept in the car afterward. We woke up about 8am the next morning and after my mate ran her mile down the road and I tried pooping (no success) we drove over to Entiat by way of Quincy and Wenatchee. I used to live in Entiat, it is a town of 1100 people, although I don’t think that accounts for all the people who live in ‘county’ territory upriver and in Ardenvior. So there’s probably more. A lot has changed since I’d lived there… my old house is gone and they had torn down the apple orchard that was in the front yard. Now there is just a trailor (the kind pulled behind a truck) that someone is living in. Sad.

We visited an old junior high/high school friend of mine that I had seen 2 years earlier when we went camping in Entiat way upriver. She had a mirgraine and along with her 2 daughters, her 2 nephews stayed over. So it was a full house. We chatted and got caught up watching ‘Criminal Minds’ – good show! And took a nap. It was nice having a day to recover from the previous night. My friend made Spaghetti for dinner which was really good, and then after a while we all went to bed.

We  left for a while the next day to go shopping in Wenatchee (a half hour drive away) and first went to famous footwear, where my mate found an EXCELLENT pair of running (actually, triathlon) shoes, and I found some really nice flip flops.

After that we marched over to Old Navy, which I hadn’t been in for a long long time. I purchased a Seattle Seahawks shirt (yeahhhhhh!! The season opener against the Packers last night was awesome, the LOB was in full force and Beast Mode was amazing).My mate bought a cool new running outfit. They days are getting cooler so we’re back to running the treadmill. Also, this is due to timing because of her classes.

Later that day we came back to my friend’s place and hung out for a while again before saying our goodbyes. She has a really adorable kitten named Castiel, and an overweight pitbull named Dozer. It was good to see her and her family. I must say she is a pretty darn good mom.She’s only 1 year older than me and I could never imagining kids yet. I’m 35. Yikes.

Anyway that afternoon we arrived back at the Gorge, tailgated a bit, and went into the venue. We got some more merch and checked out our seats. 7 rows back (not including the pit of course). Wow! Amazing view. So close to the stage. Of course once the show got started, the tallest man alive and his amazon of a female companion were directly in front of us. This always happens. I am 5’3″ and my mate is 5’2″ so being tall and in front of us is just a given. But this guy was like 6’4″. Jesus. Anyway..

The people around us this time were pretty cool, less douchey. For the most part. We held up our signs and I saw Brandi point to us while holding up our “Raise Hell brandi” sign, and they played the song. Woohoo! She had a really good set and there were more people there on Sunday to watch her.

Dave Matthews Band had a great 9 song acoustic opening set with a fantastic Tripping Billies. They came out a half hour later for their electric set and just tore it up. We got The Stone during the encore, with the crowd singing the Elvis song “Fools Rush In” during the slow part, as Dave used to do in the old Dave & Tim shows back in ’99. It was pretty cool.

We got home that morning later, at about 2am. My mate drove straight home. It would’ve only taken 2 hours and 30 minutes, but we were stuck for some reason, in the parking lot not moving, for about 20 minutes and then the GPS (as well as apparently everyone else’s) took us on a weird way back to the freeway..

We relaxed on Monday and now are back in the full swing of things. My mate has school and work, I am at work, things are starting up. Summer feels over.. even the weather thinks so. Its been in the upper 60’s low 70’s. It even rained a few days. Whaaaaaaaat!

But this weekend should be in the 80’s again… maybe we will have an indian summer for the harvest season. That would be nice. I don’t want to do a corn maize in 50 degrees.

20140831_222549

 

Shout At Me!

