Oh, Utah.

Utah drivers are the worst. THE WORST. I remember reading a statistical poll that concluded Idaho had the worst drivers. I agree that Idaho drives like morons, it is true – however, I think Utah needed to be #1 on the list for bad driving.

When I moved here, I was appalled. Coming from WA where the traffic is terrible in the Seattle metro area, and people drive like crap over in Spokane due to the Idaho influence, I expected the population to be a lot better at operating moving vehicles. I was wrong.

I was made to take a computer test (why do they still refer to them as ‘written tests’?) before I could get my license in Utah. I think they seem to blame the out-of-staters for the driving issues, but if we have to take a test and native Utahns don’t, then there goes that theory right out the window.

Here is a non-comprehensive list of items that need work:

  1. Running red lights. Every day at least once, I see people running a red light. It is completely dangerous and ridiculous.
  2. Speeding. I am a fan of doing the speed limit. They wouldn’t set the limits at what they are if they didn’t think it wasn’t the safest possible. Plus, who wants a speeding ticket? Not I.
  3. Cutting people off. No one leaves any room between themselves and the car in front of them, so when people are merging over, it is a necessity to cut someone off. Leave more room between yourselves, people! Ever hear of the two car length rule? Because I live in Utah, I use about 2.5 car lengths. Just to be on the safe side. You never know.
  4. Driving while talking on their phone. I see this every so often, and usually the person is driving like an asshole. I’ll see someone do something stupid, and then when passing by, I’ll glance to see who it is (we all do this, c’mon) and usually it is someone on the cellphone.
  5. Big trucks parking like dipshits. Ok, so this isn’t related to the vehicle actually moving, but it is quite annoying. I think this is a problem everywhere (except Seattle where they shirk large trucks – in fact, you see a lot of scooters and egg-cars in Seattle more than anything). Next time you see a monster truck parked in the lot, check out how they parked. They are either taking up two spaces with their truck bed, or taking up two, maybe even 3 spaces with their sloppy angle. Not a fan.

Those are just a few things I hate about Utah driving. There are more, but those are my top 5 pet peeves.

I’d like to see a new list come out of the worst drivers, and have Utah be included as the #1 for worst. It would be highly accurate.

Shout At Me!

